Harrogate Unparished Area:

Recommendation 1 - a new parish be established for the unparished area of Harrogate

Recommendation 2 - the new parish be named Harrogate

Recommendation 3 - the new parish of Harrogate should have a parish council and be called Harrogate Town Council

<u>Recommendation 4</u> – that the parish comes into effect from 01 April 2024 for administrative purposes, and the first election for the town council be 2 May 2024 for a reduced term of three years, with ordinary elections taking place in 2027 and every four years thereafter

Recommendation 5

- (i) the parish be divided into wards
- (ii) the ward names for the parish shall be those which apply to divisions for North Yorkshire County Council until 31 March 2023, and which will apply for North Yorkshire Council after 1 April 2023, with the exception of Oatlands and Saltergate wards, which comprise the unparished part of the Oatlands and Pannal division and the Killinghall, Hampsthwaite and Saltergate divisions respectively. The ward names are as detailed below:

Bilton and Nidd Gorge

Bilton Grange and New Park

Coppice Valley and Duchy

Fairfax and Starbeck

Harlow and St Georges

High Harrogate and Kingsley

Oatlands

Saltergate

Stray, Woodlands and Hookstone

Valley Gardens and Central Harrogate

Recommendation 6 – there should be 19 councillors elected to the parish

Recommendation 7 - the number of parish councillors to be elected for each ward shall be

| Bilton and Nidd Gorge | 2 |
|--------------------------------------|----|
| Bilton Grange and New Park | 2 |
| Coppice Valley and Duchy | 2 |
| Fairfax and Starbeck | 2 |
| Harlow and St Georges | 2 |
| High Harrogate and Kingsley | 2 |
| Saltergate | 1 |
| Oatlands | 2 |
| Stray, Woodlands and Hookstone | 2 |
| Valley Gardens and Central Harrogate | 2 |
| Total | 19 |

<u>Recommendation 8</u> – that the change takes effect on 15th October 2023 for electoral purposes (ahead of publication of the revised register planned for 01 December 2023)