Your local councillor will participate in committees representing your local area, and may be involved in a number of other committees.

Executive members for the controlling Conservative party group

The executive, consisting of the leader and seven other councillors, makes most decisions, but decisions about the budget and major policy framework are made by the full council.

  • Councillor Carl Les - leader of the council, also responsible for communications, emergency planning and community safety
  • Councillor Gareth Dadd - deputy leader, executive member for finance and assets, and special projects, including financial and HR performance management
  • Councillor Janet Sanderson - executive member for children's services
  • Councillor Patrick Mulligan - executive member for education and skills, including early years, schools, apprenticeships, FE colleges and UTCs, and engagement with the skills agenda of the LEP
  • Councillor Don Mackenzie - executive member for access, including highways, road and rail transport, public transport; broadband, mobile phones; public rights of way
  • Councillor David Chance - executive member for stronger communities, including committee services, legal services, corporate development, overview and scrutiny committees, area committees, performance management and locality budgets
  • Councillor Michael Harrison - executive member for health and adult services, including health and wellbeing board, health integration, extra care
  • Councillor Caroline Dickinson - executive member for public health, prevention and supported housing, including sustainability and transformation plans (issues relating to Friarage and Darlington Hospitals)
  • Councillor Andrew Lee - executive member for open to business, including growth, economic development, planning, waste management, trading standards unit and business relations
  • Councillor Greg White - executive member for customer engagement, including contact centre, website, libraries, digital, and performance management (complaints and compliments)

Leaders of the other political groups

You can view a list of the leaders of each of the political groups within the council here


Download the constitution document to view up to date membership details of the committees.

There are five overview and scrutiny committees which look into how effectively the council is serving the needs of its communities and also scrutinise the work of the Executive. The scrutiny of health committee also reviews health service matters in the county.

  • Care and independence
  • Corporate and partnerships
  • Scrutiny of health
  • Transport, economy and environment
  • Young people

We have established seven area committees, each of which deals with council business within the county's districts - Craven, Hambleton, Harrogate, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough and Selby. The committees comprise the councillors for each of the electoral divisions in the district, together with representatives of the district and parish councils and other local bodies, who are co-opted onto the committees.

The committees meet every three months, or more frequently, and have responsibilities for promoting strategies, taking an over-view of the effectiveness of public services, for highways and rights of way matters and for making grants to local bodies.

  • Craven
  • Hambleton
  • Harrogate
  • Richmondshire
  • Ryedale
  • Selby
  • Yorkshire coast and moors

The council also has a number of other committees.

  • Audit
  • Chief officers appointments committee
  • Pension fund committee
  • Planning and regulatory functions committee
  • Standards committee