In July 2021 the Government announced that a new single council would be formed to deliver all services across North Yorkshire on the footprint of the current county council.

This new council will replace the current county and the seven district and borough councils and it will be in place from 1 April, 2023. The Structural Changes Order approved by Parliament in March 2022 states that 90 new councillors will represent 89 divisions across the county.

On Thursday 5 May, North Yorkshire residents will be able to vote for the person they want to represent them at the county council elections.

Find out how to register to vote.

What will change and when

These elections will put in place councillors who will serve for a five-year term. That’s a year longer than usual. For the first year these councillors will represent the current county council. They will form a new executive and they will also oversee the implementation of the new council to make sure everything is in place for 1 April, 2023.

This same group of councillors will then carry on their role on the new council for a further four years. District and borough councils will remain until 1 April, 2023, and the councillors serving those organisations will continue in their roles until that date.

New electoral divisions

You can see the new electoral divisions on a map here, or read a list of the new electoral divisions by district here.

Does this process include a boundary review?

No. A review will take place after the May 2022 elections and ahead of the next new council elections in 2027.

Town and parish council election

The Government is proposing to align the timing of town and parish council elections with the elections in May 2022 for the new unitary council. This will reduce costs and pressure on resources at a critical point.

How to vote

Find out how to vote in the county council elections.