North Yorkshire celebrates inspirational teaching in awards

This story was published 1 July 2019

North Yorkshire County Council has celebrated the third year of its teaching awards scheme, which recognises school staff who inspire and make a real difference to the lives of North Yorkshire’s children and young people.

Nominees and winners from the North Yorkshire County Council teaching awards at the Thirsk Racecourse celebration.

The aim is to celebrate good practice as well as raising the profile of teaching and to improve the esteem of the profession.

The awards this year were sponsored by North Yorkshire Education Services (NYES) and Smoothwall and held at Thirsk Racecourse.

“We have much to celebrate in North Yorkshire,” said County Councillor Patrick Mulligan, North Yorkshire’s Executive Member for Education and Skills. “These finalists represent the many great teachers and support staff in the county’s schools who are so dedicated to helping children and young people achieve their very best.

“So many go above and beyond to provide excellence in teaching and learning. Teachers in North Yorkshire show fantastic commitment and in return get great support through professional development, partnership working and sharing good practice.

“We hold these awards as a signal to teachers everywhere and to those wanting to become teachers, to come to North Yorkshire and build a great career.”

“Nearly 90 per cent of children and young people go to a good or outstanding school in North Yorkshire; our inspirational teachers and school staff are pivotal in enabling our children the best chance to realise their life ambitions.”

Further details about working as a teacher in North Yorkshire, vacancies and teacher training, plus more photos from the Teaching Awards, can be found on

Award winners

  • Newly Qualified Teacher in a Primary School: Megan Rowley, South Milford Primary School
  • Teaching / Support Assistant of the Year in a Secondary School Setting: Zoe Spink, Malton School & Sixth form
  • Outstanding team or individual (Non-Teaching Team) – Secondary: Ollie Williams & Dave Harston, Stokesley School
  • Specialist Education Team of the Year: Eileen Corbett: Specialist Teacher, Jean Monkman: HLTA, Karen Raven: ATA, Alison Robert : ATA, Susan Steele:  GTA, Jess Pinder: PCA,  Springhead School
  • Stepping up to the Challenge - Innovation Award: Zoe Gill, Settle College
  • Newly Qualified Teacher in a Secondary School: Peter Woodrow, Malton School & Sixth Form;
  • Teaching Assistant - Primary School: Catherine Harland, St Wilfreds;
  • Outstanding Team or Individual (Non-teaching Team) - Primary School: Kim Exelby, Easingwold Primary School
  • Community and Collaboration Award (School / Team): Social, Emotional, Mental Health Team - Helen Mukherjee, Janet Laidler-Smith, Stuart Heaviside, Elizabeth Mukherjee, Upper Wharfedale School
  • Classroom Teacher of the Year in a Secondary School: Sam Stones, Norton College
  • Classroom Teacher of the Year in a Primary School: Helen Holmes, Hookstone Chase Primary School

Picture shows: Nominees and winners from the North Yorkshire County Council teaching awards at the Thirsk Racecourse celebration.