Free public Wi-Fi

Free public Wi-Fi is available in 20 market towns across North Yorkshire.

The network, which is delivered by our broadband company NYnet, is Friendly Wi-Fi certified and allows you to connect to the internet whilst enjoying our market town centres. We are using this to explore how this technology could be used to promote local shops and services and create a different town centre experience.

If you are a student, you can connect to your educational networks via Eduroam and public sector staff can connect via Govrom, giving you the assurance that you are on a secure network.

The Wi-Fi is Friendly Wi-Fi certified. This demonstrates our commitment to protecting all users who connect by filtering out inappropriate content, making it safe for children to use.

How to connect to the Wi-Fi

Follow these instructions to connect to the free Wi-Fi.

  1. From your device's Wi-Fi settings, search for North Yorkshire Wi-Fi in a designated town and area
  2. You should then be presented with the logon page in your browser
  3. To connect, read the terms and conditions and accept by clicking the “Continue To Internet” button
  4. You are now connected to our free Wi-Fi network.

Free Wi-Fi locations

  • Scarborough
  • Whitby
  • Malton
  • Skipton
  • Harrogate
  • Knaresborough
  • Boroughbridge
  • Stokesley
  • Richmond
  • Catterick Garrison
  • Pickering
  • Leyburn
  • Northallerton
  • Selby
  • Sherburn in Elmet
  • Thirsk
  • Easingwold
  • Ripon
  • Settle
  • Tadcaster