School term and holiday dates

We publish school term and holiday dates for community and voluntary controlled schools in North Yorkshire.

Different term dates

Some schools have slightly different term dates to those below, whilst others including academy, voluntary aided and foundation schools set all of their own dates. Schools also set a further two professional development training dates of their own.

You should contact your school to confirm your dates.


Term and holiday dates for academic year 2019 - 2020

Term starts: Monday 2 September 2019

Professional development training day: Monday 2 September 2019

Half term holiday: Monday 28 October 2019 to Friday 1 November 2019

Christmas holiday: Monday 23 December 2019 to Friday 3 January 2020

Professional development training day: Monday 6 January 2020

Half term holiday: Monday 17 February 2020 to Friday 21 February 2020

Easter holiday: Monday 6 April 2020 to Friday 17 April 2020

Professional development training day: Monday 20 April 2020

May bank holiday: Friday 8 May 2020

Half term: Monday 25 May 2020 to Friday 29 May 2020

Term ends: Monday 20 July 2020

 Term and holiday dates - academic year 2019-20 (pdf / 61 KB)

Term and holiday dates for academic year 2020 - 2021

Term starts: Monday 7 September 2020

Professional development training day: Monday 7 September 2020

Half term holiday: Monday 26 October 2020 to Friday 30 October 2020

Christmas holiday: Monday 21 December 2020 to Friday 1 January 2021

Professional development training day: Monday 4 January 2021

Half term holiday: Monday 15 February 2021 to Friday 19 February 2021

Easter holiday: Monday 29 March 2021 to Friday 9 April 2021

Professional development training day: Monday 12 April 2021

May bank holiday: Monday 3 May 2021

Half term: Monday 31 May 2021 to Friday 4 June 2021

Term ends: Monday 26 July 2021

 Term and holiday dates - academic year 2020-21 (pdf / 271 KB)

Download an iCal file

The school term dates calendar (iCal) file can be imported into Outlook, Google Calendar, Apple Calendar and other calendar applications using the Import/Export function in the calendar settings.