Parish council elections

Parish or town councils are the most local level of government in England. They are independent of other levels of local government; however, they maintain a close working relationship with us.

There are 731 parishes in North Yorkshire. Some parish councils in our county are known as town or city councils but have the same role as a parish council. They will all hold elections at different times of the year depending on their circumstances, this page has all the information on the current parish council elections.

Leyburn Town Council

 View the notice of vacancy for Leyburn town council (pdf / 11 KB)

Notice of vacancy for Scotton (Richmondshire)

 View the notice of vacancy for Scotton in Richmondshire (pdf / 10 KB)

Notice of vacancy for Bainbridge

View the notice of vacancy for Bainbridge

Notice of casual vacancy for Wombleton

View the notice of casual vacancy for Wombleton

Lothersdale Parish Council by-election

Nominations for this vacancy closed on 26 April. One nomination was received and this election will not be contested.

 View the notice of uncontested election here (pdf / 73 KB)

Helmsley Town Council by-election

Helmsley Town Council held a by-election on Thursday 8 June.

 Declaration of result of poll - Helmsley Town Council (pdf / 16 KB)

Pateley Bridge Town Council by-election

Declaration of results of poll

Thornton Dale Parish Council by-election

 View the declaration of results (pdf / 18 KB)