Councillors, committees and meetings

Find out about your councillors and their work, council meetings, information about scrutiny procedures, and how to get involved in decision making.

Political make up of the council

We are a Conservative controlled county council. There are 90 councillors, of which 46 are Conservative, 13 are Liberal Democrat, 12 are Labour, nine are North Yorkshire Independent, five are Green, four are independent and one is a member of the Liberal Party. There is an executive in place, with arrangements confirmed at the County Council AGM on 18 May 2022.